Occupy Here, Occupy There, Occupy Every Where


[google082fa2c14b910fe3.html]

Right now, I’m singing along to “Not Ready to Make Nice” and I’m pretty happy. I just came home from participating in the Occupy Wall Street protest going on in my local community in support of the Occupy movements taking place all over the World today.  Since 2008, I’ve watched the robbery of American taxpayers and future taxpayers; I have asked my friends, family, everyone who would listen, and those who got tired of listening, why weren’t we out protesting the Great American rip-off. Other wise known as the “Emergency Economic Stabilization Act”, “the Bailout”or Corporate Wealth Fare going public as I like to call it.

Now, normally I spout facts and figures about the travesties that took place then and continue to be standard business practices today. But today I found a chorus I can lend my voice to and happily stand for hours chanting and singing. I talked to people today and asked them what life is like for them since the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act was passed, that We, the People funded. Without any consideration to the 99% of us who called, emailed, snail mailed and faxed our elected officials and said “NO and Hell NO”. Why was our very strong, clear message united in one voice not heard?  Not ONE person said their economic situation had stabilized. In fact, every one of them said their economic situation has gotten worse. They aren’t feeling any trickle down. They are not seeing any change, they are not hoping for change any more. They’re feeling frustrated, ignored and angry that we and future generations have been ripped off. What we call a democracy is no longer a democracy. We have the best government money can buy. The problem though, is our taxes fund it, but corporations and the 1% benefit from it. Since the American Dream is now the American Nightmare, despair is not an option,  and we the People are taking to the streets exercising our right to express our Voice.  Right now getting involved in politics and uniting our voices is the most important thing we can do. Otherwise, I am sure you have  heard the story about how to cook frogs? In case you haven’t – The boiling frog story is a widespread anecdote describing a frog slowly being boiled alive. The premise is that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will not perceive the danger and will be cooked to death. The story is often used as a metaphor for the inability of people to react to significant changes that occur gradually.

When I participated in the General Assembly today, I liked that there is nothing to hang a label on that turns into a polarizing situation. It’s not about what political party I belong to, nor the sex I am, or my ethnic background. There is no question about my morality, what God I choose, or not, to worship in whatever way I choose to. Here is part of the manifesto quoted from the inspiration for people all over the world today from Occupy Wall Street:

“As one people, united, we acknowledge the reality: that the future of the human race requires the cooperation of its members; that our system must protect our rights, and upon corruption of that system, it is up to the individuals to protect their own rights, and those of their neighbors; that a democratic government derives its just power from the people, but corporations do not seek consent to extract wealth from the people and the Earth; and that no true democracy is attainable when the process is determined by economic power. We come to you at a time when corporations, which place profit over people, self-interest over justice and oppression over equality, run our governments. We have peaceably assembled here, as is our right, to let these facts be known.

Join us and make your voices heard!”

Now, that’s something I can sing about!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

